how to build iso

Feb 9, 2011 at 12:26 PM

Hi,

I have been a VB developer for years, so I tried to build an application using the VB template.  It worked fine until I tried some VGA stuff, then the compiler started thowing errors when I tried to compile some code I converted from C#, it was converted correctly, however when COSMOS tried do something with it I would always get an error like "The method or operation is not implemented.".  A confusing error however easy enough to find.  The cause was a line like...

Dim b as byte
b = (2 * 2)
or
b = cbyte(2*2)

Support for VB.NET probably should be dropped as its not complete and doesnt work well for the most part.

Anyway, I ported my code back over to C#, and am trying to build it there... It builds fine, but the VB version generates an ISO automagically, how do I get the C# version to do the same?

Coordinator
Feb 9, 2011 at 12:29 PM
The support for VB is the same as for c#: if it works, it works, if it doesn't, please join us and fix it ;-)

theoretically speaking, both vb and c# compile to .net assemblies, which is what we use as input. However, vb.net uses quite a bit helper methods (vb runtime) which likely use fuzzy things, compared to c#...

On Wed, Feb 9, 2011 at 2:26 PM, stimphy <notifications@codeplex.com> wrote:

Hi,

I have been a VB developer for years, so I tried to build an application using the VB template. It worked fine until I tried some VGA stuff, then the compiler started thowing errors when I tried to compile some code I converted from C#, it was converted correctly, however when COSMOS tried do something with it I would always get an error like "The method or operation is not implemented.". A confusing error however easy enough to find. The cause was a line like...

Dim b as byte
b = (2 * 2)
or
b = cbyte(2*2)

Support for VB.NET probably should be dropped as its not complete and doesnt work well for the most part.