Creating a Double Buffer

Mar 1, 2012 at 11:52 PM

I am making an OS with a GUI (using SVGA) and I'm wondering how i would create a Double Buffer. I've done it before, but i forgot how i did it.

Mar 2, 2012 at 2:53 AM
farlepet wrote:

I am making an OS with a GUI (using SVGA) and I'm wondering how i would create a Double Buffer. I've done it before, but i forgot how i did it.

You can but it will be too slow. And because of the way to Cosmos SVGA driver works, you will be stuck with flicker. So the solution is to look at my Cosmos SVGA driver in pearos.codeplex.com under > Core > Screen > Drviers and because of a mouse glitch you will need to use my custom mouse driver > Core > Mouse > Hardware. I wish I was a dev on Cosmos, I could fix so many bugs in drivers. Hope it helps - Matt

My method is a little slow at the moment, I have a update but I haven't had time to commit it,  but it will stop the flicker.

Mar 2, 2012 at 9:01 PM
civilwarrock wrote:
farlepet wrote:

You can but it will be too slow. And because of the way to Cosmos SVGA driver works, you will be stuck with flicker. So the solution is to look at my Cosmos SVGA driver in pearos.codeplex.com under > Core > Screen > Drviers and because of a mouse glitch you will need to use my custom mouse driver > Core > Mouse > Hardware. I wish I was a dev on Cosmos, I could fix so many bugs in drivers. Hope it helps - Matt

My method is a little slow at the moment, I have a update but I haven't had time to commit it,  but it will stop the flicker.

Hey, civilwarrock, I see you all over this site, how are you not a dev! you know so much about cosmos!

Mar 2, 2012 at 10:32 PM
idifyable wrote:
civilwarrock wrote:
farlepet wrote:

Hey, civilwarrock, I see you all over this site, how are you not a dev! you know so much about cosmos!