ASM Man how do you do the last step??

Topics: Off Topic
Aug 5, 2012 at 9:49 PM

Alright so I feel like a complete noob when saying this, but I need some help, I looked around and could never really find my answer. Alright so I have this "boot.asm" file I have been working on. Heres the code

[BITS 16]
[ORG 0x0000] ;Mark the offset 0
jmp     START

START:
         ; boot code located at 0000:7C00
         ;adjust Segment registeres
          mov     ax, 0x07C0
          mov     ds, ax
          mov     es, ax
          mov     fs, ax
          mov     gs, ax

;Load String to "si" register and call "DisplayMessage" Procedure 
          mov     si, helloWorld
          call    DisplayMessage

HANG: ;Infinite Loop to hang
            jmp HANG

;Procedure For Display String on Screen
DisplayMessage:
          lodsb                                       ; load next character
          or      al, al                              ; test for NUL character
          jz      .DONE
          mov     ah, 0x0E                            ; BIOS teletype
          mov     bh, 0x00                            ; display page 0
          mov     bl, 0x07                            ; text attribute
          int     0x10                                ; Call BIOS interrupt
          jmp     DisplayMessage
     .DONE:
          ret

helloWorld db "Hello World!", 0x00 ; String to Print

times 510-($-$$) db 0
      dw 0AA55h ;Boot Signature

Now, how do I create a ISO, so that I may burn the ISO to a disk and then boot it, and have "Hello World" displayed? Sorry for my stupidness. Also, I know this is a boot loader, right? So you cant code your OS or Kernel here, how would you link the two? Thanks - Matt

I FEEL LIKE A RETARD. Oh well, thats how all beginners feel. XD Thanks for the help - Matt

Aug 5, 2012 at 11:14 PM
Edited Aug 5, 2012 at 11:20 PM